GESE Intermediate Grades 7-9

GESE Intermediate Grades 7-9

GESE Grade CEFR Level
Grade 7 B2.1
Grade 8 B2.2
Grade 9 B2.3

GESE Intermediate stage exams are for people with a strong ‘Independent User’ English language ability. At this stage, they are expected to share responsibility for maintaining and developing the conversation.

Exam structure

The exam takes the form of an unscripted conversation with a Trinity examiner and lasts for 15 minutes. There are three parts to the exam.

The Topic discussion: the candidate selects a topic of their choice to prepare in advance and discuss with the examiner. It can be on any subject that interests them but must allow them to demonstrate the language functions and communicative skills required for the grade.

The Interactive task: the candidate has to respond spontaneously to a task they have not seen before. It’s their responsibility to maintain the interaction – they’re expected to make comments and ask questions.

The Conversation: the candidate engages in a one-to-one conversation basd on two subject areas appropriate to the